Refocusing

sunsetThis is my little sister! 😀

Hey guys, sorry for going so long without updating! After that last post my summer got ridiculously busy. My final week of school came, then we went camping, then our fair was in town, and then we Downpour Festival (2 day Christian concert festival thing). I did continue to study Japanese up until about 2 weeks ago, but then I ran out of steam. So I haven’t really done any studying for 2 weeks. I’m slowly getting back into it though.

So! How am I refocusing? Well, I am not refocusing on language learning, as weird as that seems. I am refocusing my life in order to be healthier. (That’s one reason I haven’t studied, well for the last week anyway.) I am about 20 pounds heavier than I would like to be and I am trying to lose it. See, I don’t look like I’m 20 pounds overweight because I gain it everywhere. It is noticeable around my middle now and I don’t like it, so I need to lose it! I’ve started changing my diet and doing at least 15-30 minutes of exercise a day. I am trying to make a habit out of this, so that it stays with me for, hopefully, the rest of my life. Because of this, studying languages will probably slow off, but I think that being healthy is more important than learning languages. It’s harder to study when you feel like crap and have no energy.

I’m also trying to get my spiritual life on track. I let my time studying languages take over my time with God and that’s just not cool. University also starts on Monday, so I need to refocus for that too. I will still try to write blog posts, but it may slow off to a post every two weeks. So basically a lot of refocusing and changes going on.

As for my progress with Japanese, I’m kind of stuck on this upper beginner plateau. I know it’s because I haven’t done enough chatting and speaking. I have this ridiculous fear of voice and video chatting with total strangers (I heard somewhere that this is mostly an American problem). It creeps me out when people are like “hey, even though I just met you let’s video chat!” Ummm, no. Let’s type chat and get to know each other first. Maybe that’s just me though. Maybe I’m just self-conscious? I don’t know. Whatever.

So stuck on a plateau, but I will try to get off it before I start German in September. Also I learned that there’s a lady in the church we’re now going to who is Japanese, so I will try to get together with her and speak more! (It might be hard because I think she goes to the late service and I go to the early service because of work. :/ hmmm.)

So how are your language adventures (or any other adventures) going?

About veronica226

I'm a dedicated Christian learning Japanese to be a missionary and tell people about Jesus! I LOVE to read. I like hiking, swimming, watching thunderstorms and just generally anything outside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

